Mittens of Triumph!

BWAHAHAHAHA!

This post is to celebrate the completion of my set of winter items for this year – The Grey Album, we’ll call it. Every year, it seems, I go to knit myself a new pair of mittens, only to realize that the color/style that I have chosen doesn’t fit with anything I currently own. Unwilling to be seen in a red hat, grey mittens, and blue scarf, I usually dutifully cast on for a matching hat and scarf.

These mittens, however, gave me fits for a good month. They’re the Broad Street Mittens, by Janis Cortese, from the Fall 2002 issue of Knitty (free, online). The pattern is, oh, how to put this politely…poorly edited? There was much ripping back and cursing with these, more than I have had with a pattern in a very, very long time.

I spent most of today finishing the shell portion on the right hand, and finagling a pocket for the back of the left hand. Why a pocket, you ask?

For my transit card, of course. : ) This idea actually came from a different pattern, the Subway Mittens, by Colleen Meagher. It can be found in the Winter 2007 issue of Interweave Knits(not free, offline). I knit the mittens using the Ash colorway of KnitPicks Palette, a fingering weight yarn. The buttons are fired clay maple leaves, bought at Purls here in Tucson.

Scholar Collar, by Jared Flood (free, online). Knit in Misti Alpaca Chunky, color 403, a bulky weight yarn. Took two days.

Owl Hat, by Ruthie Nussbaum (free, online). Also knit in Misti Alpaca Chunky, color 403. Took one day.

See these on Ravelry, if you have an account – Transit Mittens, Scholar Collar, Owl Hat.

2 Comments

Filed under knitting

2 responses to “Mittens of Triumph!

  1. Dad

    So, am I seeing right? These mittens have “finger covers” that look like they fold back to reveal fingerless gloves? Or are the left and right simply different from each other? If it is the former, then no wonder you had trouble with them! Looks like that would’ve been very complicated to do… Well done, in any case — they’re quite handsome.

  2. sus

    Very cool mittens. I like the double function. Gloves are never warm enough, but mittens are impossible to do anything in. Hope your travel is easy and Japan is wonderful. Don’t know which is better for communication, this or your email. so thought I’d try this one for a change. Bon voyage. Sus

Leave a Reply

