Kita Ward, the Expanded Version

If someone had told me that the largest use of my free time in Japan would be reading massive amounts of science fiction and manga I would have, first, agreed with them, second given them a very odd look, because that’s what I end up doing everywhere.

I f someone had told me that the second largest use of my free time in Japan would be riding around on a bike and taking pictures, I probably would have laughed until I cried and then directed them to my younger brother.

But. They would have been right.

About a week ago, I noticed that there was a river marked on my map of the neighborhood. It was just beyond the department store I go to, so I knew that it was close enough to bike to. ‘River’ in Arizona means ‘large dry ditch between parts of town that fills with water every ten years and washes away anyone dumb enough to drive through it’ so I was eager to see an actual flowing body of water up close.

First, however, I had to get up these stairs. After some thought, I fireman-carried the bike up, figuring that if the single Japanese couple around decided to tell everyone, nobody would believe them.

Most of these were taken from the large pedestrian/bicycle-only bridge that I crossed.

Despite the overcast skies, there were plenty of teenagers and a few families hanging out by the banks. No fishermen that I saw, though there was someone flying a remote control helicopter.

There was a soccer field with goalposts set up. Nobody playing though.

On the other side of the bridge was a neighborhood very similar to my own, though with no apartment buildings and more houses and small shops. This garden appeared to be shared by the residents of the houses surrounding it.

One more river picture.

On the way back, I took a different bridge than before and encountered a different staircase, that I wish I had known about before.

One specifically designed for people to roll their bikes up. D’oh.

Next post will probably be 12 on the 12th, or the Wheneverth. I’ll be in Takayama, a nearby city on Sunday, so hopefully there will be plenty to show you guys.

2 Comments

Filed under japan

2 responses to “Kita Ward, the Expanded Version

  1. Dad

    Great photo story. What keeps kids from zooming DOWN that inviting looking stair-ramp? I’m picturing a menacing looking post at the bottom or something equally ominous?

  2. Sus

    Something tells me that the answer to your Dad’s question is akin to the need to explain ‘herding cats.’

Leave a Reply

