October’s Twelve on the Twelfth

Because even though it’s noon on the thirteenth here, it’s the twelfth…somewhere.

The day started in Takayama, where we had parked ourselves last night after traveling through parts north of Nagoya. I forgot to take a picture of breakfast, so this first picture is of Joanna and Lisa standing in front of our enormous yellow tour bus. This was taken about a minute before we moved off to the side and almost got flattened by a second bus pulling into its spot.

This is the garden at the first place we stopped that morning, the former Takayama city hall. It was a fairly traditional Japanese style building built in the 1600s and used up until 1969 and came complete with gardens, living quarters, and, of course…

Instruments of torture. This is in fact a basket that they used to transport ‘suspects,’ which, according to our tour guide, seemed to indicate ‘criminals who have not yet confessed.’

From there, we checked out the farmer’s market that was going on outside and sampled bits of apple. Amy actually bought one, but it was so huge she had trouble getting her teeth into it.

Afterwards, we headed over to a shopping arcade that offered a lot of local products and food. These kids are doing what I would have been if I were about ten years younger – checking out the water running through all these little canals in front of the houses and shops and down to the water.

Dude cooking up some enormous rice crackers in the same area.

We had lunch at a noodle place and I noticed these red shoes in the pile as we were leaving. They’re One Piece shoes and I would love to know where I could find a pair in my size.

After lunch, we decided to head to a park that the map indicated was close to where we had to meet the bus. Unfortunately, the map neglected to mention the giant hill the park was perched on. We got about halfway up before giving up, though the view was excellent.

That afternoon, we headed out to a craft center that was situated in a little ‘village’ of old houses that had been moved to the area to preserve them. In most of the houses, somone was demonstrating a traditional craft that you could usually try your hand at.

IES had already arranged for us to paint designs onto plates (that will be delivered to us later) so must of us finished up quickly and took off to explore the area.

I decided to see if I could find a convenience store for snacks and started wandering down the hill. In one of those ‘I’ll just go one block further…or maybe around this corner…?’ situations, I found myself a bit lost.

Okay, really lost.

No, just kidding, this is a park commemorating the relationship between the city of Denver and Takayama-shi. I called our tour director and he has the bus pick me up at the bottom of the hill.

That was the end of our tour and we drove home to Nagoya that evening. I took this as we were driving out of Takayama.

Finally, a bonus picture from Saturday, because I totally would have used it if it had been taken on the right day. This is an example of the canals I mentioned earlier and why I would have been out with popsicle sticks and wood glue every weekend if I lived around here as a kid.

3 Comments

Filed under japan

3 responses to “October’s Twelve on the Twelfth

  1. Michaela

    These pictures are awesome. The child really looks like the monster of doom (but I am biased of course). I hope its an amazing trip for you. How are the classes? Plus what are you taking?

  2. CB

    I’ll bet I can build a popsicle-stick boat that gets to the other side faster than yours…

    …yeah, I woulda been playing with those things too. Although, I might not have to be ten years younger.

  3. Cecy

    Giant hill? I remember one of those…

Leave a Reply

