On the Beach

But never mind the bad literary references. This past Sunday, I took a drive with Lisa and her host family to the ‘beach’. I use quotes because there was no sand involved, just rocks and freezing cold water.

First, lunch. After we finished drivng to the ocean, the first place that we stopped was at a seafood place to eat. From the moment we walked in, we knew those fish were doomed.

At least it died artistically. Well, I say ‘died’ but in reality the fish was still gasping and flipping around when it got to our table. I’m not talking about some kind of measly twitching motion, this thing was giving its all at the whole ‘breathing out of water’ thing. I’ve regretted few things since coming to Japan, but not getting film footage of that fish is one of them. They had to take the poor thing away and divide the sashimi up onto separate plates for us.

Yeah. This one kind of speaks for itself.

After lunch, we went walking around the area. As you can see, lots of rocks, not so much sand.

I think the Japanese people are a little more concerned with the sea washing them away than with enjoying it.

It was a little chilly, so we mostly hung around on the rocks and messed with whatever we could find in the tide pools.

Now, the only living things I’ve ever encountered on beaches have been seagulls, hermit crabs and jelly fish, so it was fun to poke these little guys and see them close up, attempting to nibble my fingers.

Finally, a bonus picture of the other little dude around here, eating his car shaped bento, which I thought was really fun.

3 Comments

Filed under japan

3 responses to “On the Beach

  1. Sus

    Excellent! I’m a real fan of sushi, but I’ve never eaten any that tried to leap off my plate.
    The beach does not look quite like bikini weather, but the good news is you’re not at Mac. I think they’ve been having snow the last couple of days. In Tucson, however, it’s still in the 90s. If we could just average the two….

  2. Mom

    Thanks for the photos of the sea wall and jacks .Yeah, it looks like they’re prepared for an invasion from the Sea.

  3. Erin

    I think someone’s getting fond of a Mini Monster….

Leave a Reply

