Cake in a Cup

I was scouting Esashi this afternoon, partly to see if there was parking at the train station (there is, though not much) for the purpose of perhaps going to Hakodate next weekend, and partly to see if there was a bookstore (there is, though it’s pretty basic, with a much more awesome than expected stationery section), when I decided to stop by Yellow Glove on the way home. Yellow Glove is sort of the local Fleet Farm equivalent, minus the hunting supplies. A sort of Target with a heavier emphasis on hardware and home furnishings, but complete with its own small grocery selection (mostly snacks). I love it dearly for its 99JPY wall of candy and bookcases for less than 1000JPY.

I was cruising the snack section, as one does, right before dinner, when something caught my eye: At first I thought it was chocolate pudding, which is scarce in Japan. Having endured insipid coffee and milk-flavored flan-like puddings for the past month, I veered toward it, only to discover that it was in fact, cake in a cup. Microwaveable cake in a cup.

Say it with me: Yummy?

I’d seen various permutations of this concept lurking around the internet, but never a commercial version, so I snatched it up.

Tonight, after dinner (pizza, with a few more sea creatures than originally advertised), I tried it out. Only an egg was required, and after an aborted attempt to use chopsticks to mix it as the directions suggested, I swirled the whole thing together with a fork and popped it into the microwave for two minutes.

After it was done, I left it for a moment, because 1) I was in the middle of clipping my fingernails and 2) the kitchen smelled a bit like I had done something mean to an egg.

It kind of looked like I had done something mean to an egg as well, but I persevered.

Final verdict? Not bad. It was light and fluffy and chocolate-flavored, and not too sweet. As an aside, Japanese people are convinced that American candy is much, much too sweet, especially compared to their candy. I would agree that there is almost definitely more processed sugar involved, but would argue that Japanese mochi and wagashi (especially with red bean filling) can also easily veer into sickeningly sweet territory, with the added disadvantage of being impossible to chew and swallow. To each their own cavity-causing confectionery, I suppose.

I’ll probably buy it again, considering that it cost less than 100JPY.

4 Comments

Filed under japan

4 responses to “Cake in a Cup

  1. Dad

    A whole egg in that little cup? My kind of breakfast! (Hold the bacon and pass the frosting, please).

  2. maurimoii

    It’s bigger than it looks – maybe the equivalent of 2-3 cupcakes?

  3. Sus Baker

    Cool! Instant chocolate souffle! It reminds me of Snackin’ Cake mixes, though that was pre-microwave, I think you added egg and water and mixed it with a fork. It came with its own little disposable baking pan. I have to agree about the mochi. The first time I tried one, it turned my mouth inside out.with its sweetness and was harder to get off the roof of your mouth than peanut butter. I’ll take a good macaroon any day.

  4. jr

    Maybe cake in a cup was the kind of feared result of internationalized travel. Result was shrinking peanut and pretzel bits until the mylar wrapper cost 10X the “value” of the munchie. Nice idea, but likely to be treated similarly as a smoky alarm causing item at our office. MW popcorn banned for its burn propensity. Looked long and hard west off the Oregon coast this week and could not see youm. Jr

Leave a Reply

